Reviews

8.9
Review Score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.3
Comfort
9.3
Property Location
8.5
Facilities
9.1
Staff
9.4
Value
7.9

Reviews

    Esther
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    May 6, 2018

    A little get away.

    I feel like there is no much you can do in the hotel. I paid around $1,000USD a night. I think I expect a little more than just a room, hot spring, breakfast ans dinner. Wish there are more going on at this cute hotel.
    I like the lighting and the excellent customer service.
    baott
    us

    Review Score

    5.4
    May 1, 2018
    the bathroom is old and not clean
    dinner is ok
    Matthew
    us

    Review Score

    9.2
    April 2, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Jennalise
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    November 28, 2017
    Food was amazing and staff was very attentive. Loved having an open air bath in our room. Good location, relatively close to Hakone landmarks. The meals brought to our room were excellent!
    Nick.D
    nz

    Review Score

    10
    September 23, 2017

    Best place I've ever stayed.

    Amazing staff, great location. It's one of those experiences you'll remember for a long, long time. The staff make you feel like you're the only one staying there, which you kind of are, as there are a small number of rooms. The food was amazing and had heaps of variety.
    J LaColla
    us

    Review Score

    9.6
    August 22, 2017

    Gorgeous remote location, World-class traditional dining experience, excellent service & amenities!

    The nature of hot spring water makes it inherently difficult to deal with, but the wood surrounding in-room hot spring bath was in pretty rough condition. The soaking tub was the primary draw to this resort, and while the rest of the room was spotless and fresh, the wood around the tub was warped, cracking and was uncomfortable to touch or sit on. A water-resistant wood such as cypress or teak might be better in this location, and at 80,000 yen per night, there should be some way to afford the replacement.
    The location was quite literally spectacular, the private dining experience is something no one could possibly forget. The rooms are refreshingly large for Japan, but the overall resort feels quite home-like in it's overall size, with around 10 rooms in total. The staff is on-call, so roaming around becomes quite relaxing, as there are no awkward, unnecessary reactions with staff at all. The design of the place seems perfectly appropriate, not overly luxurious, but still unusual and modern in the layout. The private, open air hot spring bath is a wonderful experience. I don't miss the money, and I'll remember our stay here for the rest of my life.
    Elif
    tr

    Review Score

    10
    June 20, 2017

    my dream vacation

    nothing really
    everything about this place is wonderful.
    Kenneth
    us

    Review Score

    10
    June 3, 2017

    Pricey but worth every penny if you are looking to pamper yourself and remember Japan forever

    The only minor complaint I have is that my room had weak wifi reception, probably because of its strange shape (a spiral setup three floors high). The room my companions were in was perfect, though, and despite lack of reliable internet in my own room the rooftop bath was worth it. It's a bit of a drive to get there, but that's the price you pay for the quiet and privacy of the location. It was worth it for me.
    The property is nestled in the mountains of Hakone, overlooking some lush green mountains that are partially obscured by passing clouds. It's a good drive to get there - 40 minutes by taxi from Odawara station - but worth it. It's quiet and beautiful, about 20-30 minutes from Hakone Shrine and nice views of Mt Fuji. The dinners and breakfast are excellent and expertly presented. Staff are courteous and eager to help you with anything - the front desk even helped me jury-rig an adapter for my laptop to recharge it in my room. The private hotspring baths are relaxing, and there's something special about bathing in the open air yet not having to share the experience with others. You get it all to yourself. The rooms are exotic enough for foreigners to be interesting without being native enough to be disorienting. You get nice beds, amenities, shower, and the like along with tatami floors and Japanese decor mixed in with Western.
    Francesca
    us

    Review Score

    7.5
    May 3, 2018

    Beautiful and Expensive.

    Food. Way too traditional for my taste. While it was beautifully presented the food wasnt as savory as I would have hoped. For the price I was expecting for my mouth to be wowed by flavors.
    Rooms with a view. Staff was amazing. Accommodations inside the rooms were great.
    Victoria
    gb

    Review Score

    9.6
    May 1, 2018

    Luxurious and relaxing. A gorgeous little haven in Hakone.

    The bar was lovely but there wasn't much atmosphere. It was relatively late but would have expected not to have to look for staff to get a drink given the price of this hotel.
    Amazing large room with a really comfortable bed and private onsen. The in-room set meal was really special and the service was excellent! A great place to relax before hitting busy and bustling Tokyo! Love to go back!
    Bronwyn
    au

    Review Score

    6.7
    April 8, 2018
    Building sites around the hotel at the moment. The keiseki dinner was really disappointing , not worth the money.
    The private Hot tub in our room was lovely. A really special experience. The staff were very attentive and happy to help at all times.
    Chi Hung Peter
    hk

    Review Score

    9.2
    March 23, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    us

    Review Score

    5.0
    March 13, 2018

    The expense did not match the quality of stay

    jp

    Review Score

    9.2
    February 3, 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Tom
    us

    Review Score

    8.8
    January 3, 2018

    Well worth the price

    Breakfast is great. The dinner is also very delicious. It takes the whole 2 hour to serve dinner. The pool is wonderful.
    Karen
    cn

    Review Score

    9.6
    November 15, 2017

    very Private ,excellent service, hot onnsen, large space.

    Angel
    hk

    Review Score

    10
    October 28, 2017
    Sengokuhara is a beautiful place where you will see a lot of authentic Japanese gardens. Kinnotake is surrounded by bamboos. The view outside the room is unquestionable. We did enjoy the in-room open-air bath very much. The room is nicely decorated and staff are friendly. Definitely will come back for next time.
    au

    Review Score

    10
    September 13, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    David
    nz

    Review Score

    7.9
    June 19, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    reem
    sa

    Review Score

    7.1
    April 23, 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews...